Icon About

Korean War Veterans Day

MISSISSAUGA, July 27, 2014 – Senator Victor Oh, commemorates Korean War Veterans Day (July 27) with our Korean War Veterans, their families, and members of the community.



On June 19, 2013, Bill S-213 (Korean War Veterans Day Act) received Royal Assent to enact a day of remembrance to honour Canadian veterans of the Korean War, in perpetuity. Today we commemorate this important day to remember and honour the courage and sacrifice of Canadians who served in the Korean War (1950-1953) and in peacekeeping duties following the signing of the Armistice.


More than 26,000 Canadians volunteered their service to fight during the Korean War. Canada as a nation, owes an everlasting debt of gratitude to the men and women, who served and continue to serve our country. The Korean War is Canada’s 3rd bloodiest war with 516 Canadians making the ultimate sacrifice. To this day, nearly 400 Canadians rest in peace in the United Nations Cemetery in Busan, Korea. The Canadians fought bitter battles, lived in deplorable conditions, moved by foot through freezing mountains, and served with honour.


The Honourable Julian Fantino, Minister of Veterans Affairs made the following the statement: “Today, we honour those who courageously served in the Korean War.  Canada proudly remembers the sacrifices of the brave men and women who came to the aid of South Koreans. Lest we forget, the 516 Canadians who made the ultimate sacrifice to uphold freedom and democracy in South Korea.”


“Today we come together to pay tribute to these brave men and women who selflessly fought for their Country and for the Republic of Korea. We stand on the shoulders of those whose sacrifices and selfless service has given us the very freedoms we enjoy and often take for granted today. Freedom in not free…Many paid the price for our freedom with their lives. We will remember them,” said Senator Victor Oh.


For additional information, please contact:

Office of the Hon. Victor Oh, Senator

Co-Chair of Canada-China Legislative Association

Senate of Canada