Icon About Parliament

About Parliament

The Parliament of Canada is the federal legislative branch of Canada, seated at Parliament Hill in the national capital, Ottawa, Ontario. 

History of Parliament

At the Quebec Conference of 1864, the founders of Confederation worked out a blueprint for the new country's Constitution. They agreed to model our legislatures along the lines of the parliament of Westminster in Great Britain, but adapted to the unique circumstances of Canadian society.  The new national Parliament would have a mandate to make laws for the “peace, order and good government” of Canada. It would be composed of the Sovereign, an appointed upper house for the regions called the Senate, and an elected lower house — the House of Commons. A 150 years later, these three parts continue to work together to decide on policies and laws and examine the pressing issues of the day. 


Click on the following links to learn more about the Parliament of Canada: